Cambridge University Pool Club

University Singles Ladder 2011/2012

The university singles ladder is one of the main tools for varsity selection, invitations to trials for the squad will partly be given out based on results on the ladder throughout the year. Anyone is welcome to join the ladder, just log in and join below or email the ladder secretary.

Players occupying the TOP THREE places (highlighted on the ladder below) when the deadline for varsity selection is reached, will automatically qualify for the Varsity team.

Players on ROW THREE automatically qualify for the Varsity Trial.

When the CU Masters is held each year, players in the top 10 positions at the time (i.e. rungs 1, 2, 3, 4) will automatically qualify, with the other 6 spaces in that competition going to wildcard entries.

Current Positions

This is an archived copy of the ladder. To view the current ladder click here

Paul Thomas
Hugh Lund
James "Posh and" Palmer
Tom Sutton
Drew Miley
David Saul
James Wilkinson
Anthony Dinatale
Tarun Manjunath
Luke Bennett
Tom Place
Jack Hurst
James Murray
Mike Judge
Anthony Khawaja
Emma Pewsey
Steven Herbert
Jonathan McKenzie
Yunqing Guan
see profile
John McGill
Vin Shen Ban
Thomas Brouwer
see profile
Pepijn Kole
Mark Golden
see profile
Rik O'Connor
James Ross
Jason Russell
Abhishek Kumar
Al Sloan
Daniel Barnes
see profile
Glenn Harris
see profile
Andrew Hayward
James King
Alex Watson
Jonny Greengrass
Alex Veitch
Joshua Lovell
Matt Scott
Rob Hogan
see profile
Timothy Benger
Dan Ayres
Nedal Ramahi
Zhihao Cui
Kiran Auchoybur
Jon Nelson

Ladder Stats

Click here to uncover detailed head-to-head statistics from every year since 2004!

Rules of the Ladder

  1. You may challenge any player up to 2 levels above you. If your challenge is successful then you and the other player will swap places directly on the ladder. If you are on the top 5 rows you may only challenge a player who is 1 row above you.
  2. All challenges must be answered within 5 term days and played within 10 term days from the date the original challenge was made or a walkover could be given.
  3. A match should be played over at least 5 frames (first to 3), challenges to the top 4 rungs must be over at least 9 frames (first to 5).
  4. You may not make or agree to play challenges while you have a challenge outstanding.
  5. You are not officially involved in a challenge with someone above you until they contact you confirming your challenge. (This is not a license to ignore challenges). If whilst waiting for a reply you receive a challenge from below then you should reply and the original challenge becomes void.
  6. Any suspected foul play when it comes to accepting and making challenges should be reported to the League Secretary immediately who will ask to see the relevant emails. Punishment is at his discretion, continued abuse may result in removal from the ladder and/or exclusion from varsity.
  7. If an agreement cannot be reached about choice of venue or table then the person who is highest on the ladder has the final say.
  8. There must be at least a 1 week wait after losing a match before the player that beat you is obliged to grant you a rematch (they can if they wish).
  9. All matches are to be played to World Rules.
  10. Any player who fails to show up within 30 minutes of the agreed time shall forfeit the match.
  11. Claims for a walkover must be made by at most 3 days after the 10 day time limit for playing matches has expired.


Name P W L F A Pts James "Posh and" Palmer 9-11 Hugh Lund (Friendly)
James "Posh and" Palmer 3-7 Hugh Lund
Drew Miley 2-11 Paul Thomas
Tom Place 5-2 James Wilkinson
Tom Place 3-4 James Wilkinson (Friendly)
Hugh Lund 5-6 James "Posh and" Palmer
Rik O'Connor 5-0 Al Sloan
James Ross 3-5 Rik O'Connor
James "Posh and" Palmer 15-7 Drew Miley (Friendly)
Drew Miley 6-9 Hugh Lund
Paul Thomas 7-3 Hugh Lund
Tom Sutton 3-7 Steven Herbert
Rik O'Connor 9-8 James Ross
James King 2-4 Tarun Manjunath
Hugh Lund 7-4 Steven Herbert
Matt Scott 4-5 James Ross (W/O)
Drew Miley 6-7 Tom Sutton
James "Posh and" Palmer 10-6 Tom Sutton
Mike Judge 11-5 James Wilkinson
Jonathan McKenzie 6-3 Tarun Manjunath
Matt Scott 4-5 Tarun Manjunath (W/O)
James "Posh and" Palmer 8-10 Mike Judge (Friendly)
James Ross 8-4 Rik O'Connor (Friendly)
James Ross 6-9 Tarun Manjunath
James Folliard 4-5 Anthony Dinatale (W/O)
Steven Herbert 2-7 Drew Miley
James "Posh and" Palmer 6-10 Drew Miley (Friendly)
James "Posh and" Palmer 10-4 Drew Miley
Tom Place 4-5 Anthony Dinatale
Paul Thomas 10-6 Hugh Lund
Paul Thomas 9-10 James "Posh and" Palmer
James "Posh and" Palmer 8-10 Hugh Lund
Steven Herbert 1-7 Rik O'Connor (Friendly)
Rik O'Connor 5-7 Jonathan McKenzie (Friendly)
John McGill 4-6 James Wilkinson
John McGill 4-7 Rob Hogan (Friendly)
Steven Herbert 2-7 Tarun Manjunath
Rik O'Connor 3-5 Tom Place
Mike Judge 10-6 Anthony Dinatale
Alex Watson 2-3 Jack Hurst
Drew Miley 2-15 Rob Hogan (Friendly)
Hugh Lund 3-7 James "Posh and" Palmer
James "Posh and" Palmer 4-7 Paul Thomas
Tom Sutton 7-4 Tarun Manjunath
Drew Miley 7-5 Tarun Manjunath (Friendly)
James Ross 5-3 Al Sloan
David Saul 6-2 Tarun Manjunath
Matt Scott 4-5 Thomas Brouwer (W/O)
Paul Thomas 7-6 Hugh Lund
Pepijn Kole 5-4 Dan Ayres
Steven Herbert 0-5 Jack Hurst
James Ross 7-3 Thomas Brouwer
James Ross 5-2 Thomas Brouwer
Mike Judge 8-10 Anthony Dinatale
Vin Shen Ban 5-2 Rik O'Connor (Friendly)
James Ross 6-7 Steven Herbert
Hugh Lund 12-15 James "Posh and" Palmer (Friendly)
Mike Judge 7-0 Rik O'Connor
James "Posh and" Palmer 7-4 Tom Sutton
Drew Miley 8-15 Rob Hogan (Friendly)
Hugh Lund 4-7 Drew Miley (Friendly)
James "Posh and" Palmer 6-7 Jon Nelson (Friendly)
James "Posh and" Palmer 5-4 Tom Sutton
James "Posh and" Palmer 5-6 Rob Hogan (Friendly)
Drew Miley 7-2 Tarun Manjunath
Drew Miley 10-6 Anthony Dinatale
Drew Miley 10-3 Tom Sutton (Friendly)
David Saul 7-4 Tarun Manjunath (Friendly)
James "Posh and" Palmer179813412253
Paul Thomas651513141
Drew Miley14779311034
Mike Judge541462934
Rob Hogan440431934
James Ross954534632
Hugh Lund1257838919
Rik O'Connor945404417
David Saul22013617
Jack Hurst2208216
Jonathan McKenzie22013815
Tom Place422171413
Tarun Manjunath1046455411
Anthony Dinatale532323611
Vin Shen Ban110528
Jon Nelson110766
Pepijn Kole110546
James Wilkinson42217235
Abhishek Kumar000000
Alex Veitch000000
Andrew Hayward000000
Anthony Khawaja000000
Daniel Barnes000000
Emma Pewsey000000
Glenn Harris000000
James Murray000000
Jason Russell000000
Jonny Greengrass000000
Joshua Lovell000000
Kiran Auchoybur000000
Luke Bennett000000
Mark Golden000000
Nedal Ramahi000000
Timothy Benger000000
Yunqing Guan000000
Zhihao Cui000000
Thomas Brouwer3121016-1
Dan Ayres10145-1
James Folliard (removed)10145-1
Alex Watson10123-1
James King10124-2
Tom Sutton7253449-3
Matt Scott3031215-3
John McGill202813-5
Al Sloan202310-7
Steven Herbert7252342-8
Scoring system
  1. 5 points are given for a win, 0 points for a loss
  2. In addition at most +5 or -5 points are given for frame difference.
  3. Walkovers are given as a 5-4 victory.